Dennis Jannone | 11 Oct 16:58

Setting up spf?

I'm really a newbie when it comes to stuff like this. Any help you could give me in setting this up would be
greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Dennis

Christine Moon | 8 Sep 13:01

SPF newbie - help needed!

I am trying to set up an SPF record for my domain fojd.org.uk.  My hosting
company, Heart Internet, has suggested:

v=spf1 ip4:82.110.105.67 ip4:79.170.40.142 a mx -all

which looks reasonable to me except that I don't know what those IPs
represent - their mail server IP is 79.170.40.14

I have been told the "reverse DNS" for my domain is broken, but I have no
idea how to fix that.

Can anyone offer some advice to a non-techie please?

Peace,

Christine

 <mailto:cmoon <at> fojd.org.uk> cmoon <at> fojd.org.uk

 <http://www.fojd.org.uk/> www.fojd.org.uk

Christine Moon | 7 Sep 21:56

Is this correct?

Following problems with email bounces, my domain hosting company, Heart,
suggested I publish an SPF record for my domain fojd.org.uk and using the
wizard at www.openspf.org I published v=spf1 mx ~all

I still get a lot of bounces, particularly from Hotmail and ATT addresses,
and Heart have now directed me to a wizard provided by Microsoft at
http://www.microsoft.com/mscorp/safety/content/technologies/senderid/wizard/

I don't understand all the questions in this wizard, or know the answers
applicable to Heart's mail server (IP 79.170.40.14).  My guesswork came up
with v=spf1 mx ip4:79.170.40.52 mx:mail.fojd.org.uk +all but when I tested
this syntax using the tool at www.openspf.org I received a warning: "SPF
Ambiguity Warning: No MX records found for mx mechanism: mail.fojd.org.uk".

Can anyone advise me on this?  I spend ages just re-sending emails through
different email accounts, when really I want to send using my domain
address.

Christine Moon

tim | 1 Sep 17:06

Re: [spf-help] Digest 1.405 for spf-help

Hello,

Thanks for contacting HyperArts.

Tim Ware is out on vacation through the Labor Day weekend, returning to work Tuesday, Sept. 2.

If this is urgent, you can call HyperArts and speak to someone there:

(510) 339-6084

or send an email to either:

Sean Thomas: sean <at> hyperarts.com
Jim Thorpe: jthorpe <at> hyperarts.com

Bass | 27 Aug 18:00

mechanism options

Dear all

i have the following setup on my DNS

afnet.net.              IN      TXT     "v=spf1 mx -all"
mmail.afnet.net.        IN      TXT     "v=spf1 a -all"
mail2.afnet.net.        IN      TXT     "v=spf1 a -all"

mmail.afnet.net is the HELO name of my server, can someone check this ?
mail2 is a second server we have not installed yet.

i'm wondering if i should keep the -all or use ~all for the first line

i can confirm that for now, i only have 1 server sending emails for my domain that is mmail.afnet.net

can you please advise ?

thanks

Bass

jerry | 25 Aug 17:04

Digest 1.404 for spf-help

I shall be unavailable now until Tuesday, 26 Aug 2008. Please contact Chris Maines
(chris <at> softfusion.co.uk) in my absence.

Regards
Jerry Cannell

Frank Ellermann | 16 Aug 20:35

Fw: Rejected email due to SPF

Hi, if you reply please send a Cc: to Sargon, this message
was submitted via the strange SPF Web site contact form...

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Sargon Kannya" <sargon <at> rtctechlv.com>
To: <spf-webmasters <at> v2.listbox.com>
Sent: Wednesday, August 13, 2008 8:59 PM
Subject: Rejected email due to SPF

> 
> Topic: The SPF website
> Name: Sargon Kannya
> Organization: RTC Technology
> 
> One of my client's domains quinndev.com emails are being rejected due to the SPF.  However our SPF is
configured and working properly.  We have our own SMTP server with a static IP Address and correct rDNS and PTR/SPF.
> 
> This is our current PTR/SPF/MX records and it matches the recommendation on your site:
> 
> v=spf1 ptr:lvsite.quinndev.com a:quinndev.com -all
> IP ADDRESS: 208.57.164.12
> 
> Please advise as to why we are being rejected.  This is not the first time this has happened to my clients and
it is becoming a nuisance.
> 
> Please advise.
> 
> -- 
> Message was sent via the SPF website contact form
> <http://www.openspf.org/Contact>
(Continue reading)

MacShane, Tracy | 5 Aug 07:32

RE: Upgrading python-policy-spf

On Tue, 5 Aug 2008 14:43:55 +1000 "MacShane, Tracy" 
<Tracy.Macshane <at> AirservicesAustralia.com> wrote:
>>Is there any convenient way of upgrading python-policy-spf for
Postfix?
>>I tried simply running the Python installer over the top of the
existing
>>install but the man files didn't get updated, so it seemed a bit
faulty.
>>There isn't an RPM package for RHEL 4, so unfortunately I can't take
>>that easy option. 
> 
>I think there may be something on the opensuse build service for Red
Hat, 
>but I'm not sure. If not you might be able to use the source RPM and
build 
>it on Red Hat (that's a shot in the dark, almost all my experience is
with 
>Debian and derivatives).
>
>What versions were you upgrading from/to? I actually run the Debian 
>packages myself.
>
>Scott K

I'm going from 0.5.2 to 0.7. Yes, I did check out the RPM package from
OpenSuse, but it sticks everything into strange locations, and didn't
even install any man files. The source RPM might be an option. I would
personally love to use apt, but since we're a Red Hat shop, RPM is it.

(Continue reading)

MacShane, Tracy | 5 Aug 06:41

Upgrading python-policy-spf

Is there any convenient way of upgrading python-policy-spf for Postfix?
I tried simply running the Python installer over the top of the existing
install but the man files didn't get updated, so it seemed a bit faulty.
There isn't an RPM package for RHEL 4, so unfortunately I can't take
that easy option. I did a slash-and-burn of the existing components,
since Python doesn't provide a package uninstaller, and re-ran the
install, but would like to avoid doing that again if possible.

TIA.

Tracy

Allen Clark | 4 Aug 16:58

Limitations on location of DNS records

Following is a typical example of an SPF record for a typical domain
"flooringamerica-carpetstudio" that has a single Exchange email server
located at the IP address 69.89.122.66.

SPF    flooringamerica-carpetstudio.com  54800 IN TXT "v=spf1
ip4:69.89.122. 66 mx ~all"

My questions are...

If the ISP "A" that provides Internet data service to 69.89.122.66 does
not have the capability to publish SPF records, which restrictions
and/or limitations are there about locating authoritative DNS records at
another DNS provider at ISP "B" that does have the capability to publish
DNS records?

In other words may one move all DNS records (A, MX, Reverse DNS, SPF,
etc.) from ISP "A" to ISP "B", or are there some DNS records (i.e.
Reverse DNS) that must be published by whatever ISP that provides
Internet data service to the Exchange email server?

If there is no restriction about locating ALL DNS records at ISP "B"
while continuing to obtain Internet data service from ISP "A", how, does
one locate ISPs that  offer publication of ALL DNS records independent
of Internet data services?

Allen Clark, CNE / CNA
Manager, Technical Support
Access Computers, Inc.
6921 Peachtree Industrial Blvd
Norcross, GA 30092-3601
(Continue reading)

ExactEvents.com | 2 Aug 21:52

SPF or Sender ID Help - ExactEvents.com

Hello,

I own the domain and website ExactEvents.com. I am using 
EmailMediaGroup.com to send our emails.

I have used this company in the past and it worked great! I also have 2 
other friends that use there service and I am on there list and they get 
through great as well.

I took some time off from them ( about a year ) and wanted to try some 
other services and none of the other services worked as good. So I 
signed back with EmailMediaGroup.

But now I am having nothing but problems. My deliveries are about 50% 
down! I contacted them and they said that there is definitely an issue, 
but its on my server side. They are saying that they think my SPF is set 
up incorrectly.

I have been working on the issue for 2 weeks and it has just gone downhill.

At first this was the issue.

When I receive my emails in my Hotmail account, I open the email and I 
am getting 2 warnings.

- This message has been blocked for your safety. Open message <javascript:;>

After I click Open Message, I get the second warning.

- Attachments, pictures, and links in this message have been blocked for 
(Continue reading)


Gmane