2 Jun 22:16
Re: Newbie-esque SPF deployment questions
From: Franz Gstättner (FGlist <FGlist <at> gstaettner.at>
Subject: Re: Newbie-esque SPF deployment questions
Newsgroups: gmane.mail.spam.spf.help
Date: 2005-06-02 20:16:47 GMT
Subject: Re: Newbie-esque SPF deployment questions
Newsgroups: gmane.mail.spam.spf.help
Date: 2005-06-02 20:16:47 GMT
Jeremy Chadwick schrieb: Some remodle the entries: ------- > parodius.com. IN TXT "v=spf1 mx ~all" > parodius.com. IN MX 10 mx1.parodius.com. > mx1.parodius.com. IN A 64.62.145.229 ------ these entries belong logocal together SPF -> MX MX -> mx1.parodius.com. mx1.parodius.com. -> 64.62.145.229 Only Mails _from_ 64.62.145.229 are good. -------- > mx1.parodius.com. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all" > mx1.parodius.com. IN A 64.62.145.229 -------- these entries belongs logical together Mails from 64.62.145.229 are good when "@mx1.parodius.com" (Old Mail-Adresses before the time of the MX-entries) In the RFCs a Mailhost must rechable also per postmaster <at> mx1.parodius.com. and postmaster@[64.62.145.229]. I Think therefore is the SPF-entry for mx1. and for mails from <> (in DSNs) which is postmaster <at> mx1.parodius.com ----- > parodius.com. IN A 64.62.145.226 ------ Is not nessesary for Mailing, it has nothing to do with SPF >>>pts rule name description >>>---- ---------------------- -------------------------------------------------- >>>0.5 SPF_SOFTFAIL SPF: sender does not match SPF record (softfail) >>> [SPF failed: Please see http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=username%40parodius.com&ip=65.95.32.147&receiver=pentarou.parodius.com] Says: the mail comes from 65.95.32.147 65.95.32.147 = Toronto-HSE-ppp3714352.sympatico.ca which is not 64.62.145.229. that makes it softfail > This confuses me greatly, as pentarou.parodius.com == 64.62.145.226, > which has nothing to do with our SMTP setup. You have also: ------- pentarou.parodius.com MX (Mail Exchanger) Priority: 10 mx1.parodius.com ------- this mean you can have mailadresses with user <at> pentarou.parodius.com have the user user <at> parodius.com send it to user <at> pentarou.parodius.com and spamassin take the letters after the @ to make the message? best reguards Franz Gstaettner
RSS Feed